How Taking a Break Can Create Personal Growth

It is easy to forget about caring for yourself when you have long term goals set in front of you.

However, it is difficult within the hustle and bustle of day to day life to find time for just yourself.

Not necessarily being alone, but rather doing or seeing those things you find happiness in. It can be something as grandiose as an exotic adventure that takes you halfway around the world or as simple as playing a board game with those you love.

Personally, I get stuck in the lofty goals I have for myself and don’t take the time to rejuvenate my inner energy. This is not only taxing on me in the short term, but also corrodes my long-term goals through not enjoying the moments that I am in.

This blog comes from an interesting situation for me personally. I am at an in between stage in my life in that I know ultimately where I want to end up, but have to find the path that I want to carve to get there. It’d be foolish of me to think that I’d have an smoothly paved asphalt road for me and that thorns and bushes wouldn’t be present throughout the entirety of my journey, but it doesn’t mean I shouldn’t enjoy the small flowers along the way.

I’ve had the pleasure of being home before moving and realized that although my lofty goals have not been achieved yet, the reality is that I can still hold massive empathy for the life I live. Yesterday it came down to having a bottle of wine with my parents and Kas and ending the evening with a game of Scrabble.

I had always thought that I had no time for board games and childish endeavors like Scrabble, but quickly realized that this contributed to the reenergizing of what exactly I’m chasing and why I so vehemently want it.

Take some time for yourself, whether that be through watching sunsets, enjoying an episode of your favorite show, or just eating amazing food. Understand that you and I have very different ways of recouping and that not everyone is alike in that front. Some need time away, some need silence, some need to never stop working. It doesn’t matter exactly what you have to do to replenish your vigor, all that matters is that you do.

I encourage you all to find moments of tranquility and avenues that bring you sheer happiness.

Wishing you an awesome day and as always,

 

“There is no such things as strangers, just friends we’ve yet to meet.”

Brant

Leave a Reply

